Search
Generic filters
Wooden bridge on the southern Black Forest cycle path
Wooden bridge on the southern Black Forest cycle path

Southern Black Forest cycle path

Capacity:

Track length: 240 km
Ascent: 1452 m
Descent: 2299 m

On Saturday morning we went on a bike tour around the southern Black Forest. According to the advertisement, “Almost no increase in altitude”, is that even possible?

We started our tour not like the original tour in Hinterzarten, but on the Feldberg and then met in Lenzkirch on the southern Black Forest cycle path. Since the 230km should be behind us on Sunday evening, an average speed of 25km / h was planned. To not go through Basel To have to drive, we decided on the variant via Lörrach and we had chosen Rümmingen in the Markgräflerland as a stage location. Despite good signage, we preferred to rely on our GPS device which showed us the way in good time.

The entire bike tour runs mostly on asphalt roads with little or no traffic. These were of course ideal conditions to reach our goal of 25km / h. The tour to Rheinfelden was very varied and really almost without vertical meters. The piece of Bonndorf After Stühlingen the road even leads downhill rapidly and then ran on a beautiful bike path parallel to the Wutach with a slight gradient to the Rhine.

Beautiful towns like Laufenburg or Bad Säckingen were waiting for us on the Rhine. Instead of choosing the flat route via Basel, we decided on the more mountainous route via Lörrach and arrived in Schallbach towards evening. It was a very nice day's stage with scenic views, past the game reserve and Schwanenweier.

Day 2 - The Markgräflerland

After a rich breakfast buffet in the pension "Alte Post" we cycled strengthened towards the last 80km. While we were on our way towards Kandern, the historic Kandertal Railway steamed towards us. 

With this variant there are already slight climbs, which also make the tour varied.

After small, short climbs it went down to Bad Bellingenwhere we reached the Rhine. There wasn't a single hill here, just long, flat sand and asphalt paths. From Neuchâtel we left the path on the Rhine again and drove through corn and tobacco fields. Shortly after noon we reached the university town Freiburg and later the goal in Kirchzarten.

Summary

The southern Black Forest cycle path is a very nice way to get to know the region. The statement “almost no altitude difference” is also true, there are really only a few small climbs and these are not too long. We reached our goal in two days, but my recommendation would be to plan at least three or four days for it.

General information and official GPS data at www.suedschwarzwald-radweg.de

Image courtesy of Stefan Asal - Datacreate Asal

Route map

List   

Information
Click the button or map element to display further information.
Lf Hiker | E. Pointal contributor

My trail   

Profile

50 100 150 200 5 10 15 Distance (km) Height (m)
No elevation data
Name: No data
Distance: No data
Minimum height: No data
Maximum height: No data
Altitude meters (up): No data
Altitude meters (down): No data
Duration: No data

Description

Beautiful place
More on the topic:
Start: Albbruck Kilometers: 15 Constantly rising - the first section on the L 154 - the tour first leads to Buch. With partly strong
Start: Ettlingen Kilometers: 8 meters in altitude: 180 Start / finish: Parking lot at the Ettlingen outdoor pool Joint start on the “Vogelsruhweg” (across from Wattsteigbrückenweg) to the Fuchsbauweg above the Kalberklamm hunting lodge, then
Todtnauberg
We start our mountain bike tour at the entrance to Todtnauberg (parking facilities), turn right into the downhill Kreuzmattstrasse, after the bridge into the ascending Ennerbachstrasse

Holzbrücke am Südschwarzwald Radweg

Südschwarzwald Radweg

Inhalt

Am Samstag in der Früh ging es auf eine Radtour rund um den Südschwarzwald. Laut Werbung „Fast ohne Höhenanstieg“, ist denn das überhaupt möglich?

 

Unsere Tour begannen wir nicht wie die Originaltour in Hinterzarten, sondern auf dem Feldberg und trafen dann in Lenzkirch auf den Südschwarzwald Radweg. Da die 230km am Sonntagabend hinter uns liegen sollten, war eine Durchschnittsgeschwindigkeit von 25km/h geplant. Um nicht durch Basel fahren zu müssen, entschlossen wir uns für die Variante über Lörrach und als Etappenort hatten wir Rümmingen im Markgräflerland ausgesucht. Trotz guter Beschilderung verließen wir uns lieber auf unser GPS Gerät welches uns rechtzeitig den Weg zeigte.

 

Die gesamte Radtour verläuft meist auf wenig oder gar nicht befahrenen asphaltierten Wegen. Dies waren natürlich ideale Voraussetzungen um unser Ziel 25km/h zu erreichen. Die Tour bis nach Rheinfelden war sehr abwechslungsreich und wirklich fast ohne Höhenmeter. Das Stück von Bonndorf nach Stühlingen führt auf der Straße sogar rasant bergab und verlief dann auf einem schönen Radweg parallel zur Wutach mit leichtem Gefälle bis zum Rhein.

 

Am Rhein warteten schöne Städtchen wie Laufenburg oder Bad Säckingen auf uns. Statt die flache Route über Basel zu wählen, entschlossen wir uns für die bergigere Variante über Lörrach und kamen gegen Abend in Schallbach an.  Es war eine sehr schöne Tagesetappe mit landschaftlich reizvollen Blicken, vorbei an Wildgehege und Schwanenweier.

 

Tag 2 – Das Markgräflerland

Nach einem reichhaltigen Frühstücksbuffet in der Pension „Alte Post“ radelten wir gestärkt den letzten 80km entgegen. Während wir Richtung Kandern unterwegs waren, dampfte uns die historische Kandertalbahn entgegen. 

 

Bei dieser Variante gibt es schon leichte Anstiege, welche die Tour aber auch abwechslungsreich werden lassen.

 

Nach kleineren kurzen Anstiegen ging es hinab nach Bad Bellingen, wo wir den Rhein erreichten. Hier war nun wirklich kein einziger Hügel mehr, nur noch lange flache Sand- und Asphaltwege. Ab Neuenburg verließen wir wieder den Weg am Rhein und durchfuhren Mais- und Tabakfelder. Kurz nach Mittag erreichten wir die Uni-Stadt Freiburg und später das Ziel in Kirchzarten.

 

Fazit

Der Südschwarzwald Radweg ist eine sehr schöne Runde um die Region kennen zu lernen. Die Aussage „fast ohne Höhenmeter“ stimmt auch, es sind wirklich nur wenige kleine Anstiege vorhanden und diese sind auch nicht all zu lange. Wir haben unser Ziel in zwei Tagen erreicht, jedoch wäre meine Empfehlung mindestens drei oder vier Tage dafür ein zu planen.

 

Weitere Infos zu unserer Tour mit GPS Daten, Karte und Höhenprofil bei Tourenspass.de

 

Allgemeine Infos und offizielle GPS Daten bei www.suedschwarzwald-radweg.de

 

Liste   

Information
Schaltfläche oder Kartenelement anklicken um weitere Informationen anzuzeigen.
Lf Hiker | E.Pointal contributor

My trail   

Profil

50 100 150 200 5 10 15 Entfernung (km) Höhe (m)
Keine Höhendaten
Name: Keine Daten
Entfernung: Keine Daten
Minimale Höhe: Keine Daten
Maximale Höhe: Keine Daten
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): Keine Daten
Höhenmeter (abwärts): Keine Daten
Dauer: Keine Daten

Beschreibung

Beautiful place

Weitere Themen

Start: Ettlingen Kilometer: 15 Höhenmeter: 200 Start/Ziel: Parkplatz am Freibad Ettlingen. Von dort aus „bei der Hell“, am Horbachquell-Biotop vorbei auf den Panoramaweg bis
Per Rad durch den Schwarzwald – Aktivurlaub pur Der Schwarzwald ist ein beliebtes Urlaubsziel für Aktivurlauber. Für Wanderer und Radfahrer bieten sich in dieser
Start: Ettlingen Kilometer: 14 Höhenmeter: 260 Start/Ziel: Parkplatz am Freibad Ettlingen Gemeinsamer Start am „Vogelsruhweg“ (gegenüber Wattsteigbrückenweg) bis zum Fuchsbauweg oberhalb Jagdhütte Kalberklamm, dann
Booking.com