Search
Generic filters
Straps show old craft
Straps show old craft

Narri, Narro! - Carnival in the Black Forest

Capacity:

In the Black Forest, the Swabian-Alemannic carnival with its centuries-old customs determines the fifth season. Pagan cults, such as the noisy driving out of winter, mix with Christian rituals, such as wet, happy celebrations and the last meat enjoyment before Lent. The term “Fasnacht” stands for the six days from “Dirty” Thursday or “Schmotzige Dunschtich” to Ash Wednesday. During numerous parades and meetings of fools, dancing witches, wild men and many other colorful "larvae" populate the streets and inns of the towns. They have fun and joke with the audience.

Carnival, Mardi Gras, Carnival - a little journey to the origins

Between Christmas and the days of fasting in preparation for Easter, there has been a time of "anarchy" in all German regions since the Middle Ages. Authorities - mostly the Church - were mocked; Rules no longer applied. Protected by masks and disguises, the common people enjoyed their “great days”. People knew that from Ash Wednesday onwards, strict abstinence was required - in every respect. With the Reformation, the “fifth” season lost its importance, especially in Protestant areas. The Rhenish carnival revived from 1815 when Cologne was occupied by Prussians after the French had withdrawn. These new authorities made the "junkies" ridiculous. In southwest Germany, the more traditional Swabian-Alemannic carnival survived.

Colorful tradition and handed-down heritage - the carnival in the southwest

The fifth season, as it is celebrated in the Black Forest region, differs in many ways from the Rhenish carnival. Customs and old manners are in the foreground. In contrast to the carnival societies, the local clubs organize themselves in so-called “fools guilds”. They maintain the customs of their respective hometowns and organize events and large parades. Characteristic are the lavishly designed costumes, also called "Häs", made of a wooden mask or "larva" and the fool's dress. The Häträger usually keep their artistic equipment for a lifetime and partly pass them on. The figures shown often relate to legends and traditional, actual events.

Witches dance and wild people - shaping the Swabian-Alemannic carnival

Despite a large number of conspicuous bearers, a few basic figures can be made out. Among other things, keep appearing:

  • Devil figures - they are among the oldest disguises. Due to the many prohibitions and rules of the church, the celebrants disguised themselves even more as the "incarnate". An impressive example today is the torchlight parade of the Triberg devils.
  • Carnival witches - they include the dancing witches from Löffingen from the Upper Black Forest.
  • Wild men or wild people - could be produced cheaply for the farmers and the common people with simple means. The hat from the nutshell hansele Wolfach for example, shows itself occupied with thousands of nutshells.
  • Animal figures - an example is the "Hoorige Bär", a thickly padded straw figure made of singing or the bird-like "night crab" of the Murrhardt fools guild.

In addition, numerous other fools, legends and mythical creatures are up to mischief during the parades and events - much to the delight of the audience.

From the larvae dusting to the fool's jump - a few carnival rituals

blank

Rose Monday parade in Todtnau

The Swabian-Alemannic Carnival starts on January XNUMXth in many places with the traditional "larvae dusting". The participants remove the dust from the past year from masks and robes. Witches, devils and other beings come back to life and the great days can begin. After the first events and meetings of the fools, the "dirty" Thursday is the hot phase. "Schmotzig" stands for "fatty" in many Alemannic dialects. The name refers to the fried foods, for example the donuts or the indispensable “Fasnachtskiechli”. In many places in the southwest, the parades, also called fool's leaps, are a special experience. In addition to impressive hauliers, music and fanfare bands accompany the path. This is followed by fun hustle and bustle in the pubs and ballrooms. Mostly on the weekend after the foolish time takes place in the neighboring Basel of the Basel morning prank instead of. The Hit the slices is the end of the Swabian-Alemannic carnival.

Always worth a visit - the colorful hustle and bustle in the Black Forest and the region

Thanks to reports and numerous television broadcasts, the carnival in the Black Forest has been booming for years. Relocations worth seeing take place in, among other places Hornberg, Rottweil or in Furtwangen instead of. It is precisely the contrast to the Rhenish Carnival that gives many guests their special charm. The artistically carved masks and elaborate costumes cast a spell over the audience. A look behind the scenes and to the historical roots of the colorful hustle and bustle is worthwhile. In 2014 the Swabian-Alemannic Carnival was added to the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage. A cultural asset to celebrate with!

More on the topic:
The Black Forest, one of the largest regions in Germany, is a popular holiday destination. Located in the border triangle (France / Germany / Switzerland), it is considered one of the most beautiful regions in Europe. Especially

> Startseite > Wissenswertes > Narri, Narro! - Fasnacht im Schwarzwald

Narri, Narro! - Fasnacht im Schwarzwald

Hästräger zeigen altes Handwerk
Hästräger zeigen altes Handwerk
Inhaltsverzeichnis:


Im Schwarzwald bestimmt die schwäbisch-alemannische Fasnacht mit ihren Jahrhunderte alten Bräuchen die fünfte Jahreszeit. Heidnische Kulte, wie das lautstarke Austreiben des Winters mischen sich mit christlichen Ritualen, wie feucht fröhlichem Feiern und letztem Fleischgenuss vor der Fastenzeit. Der Begriff „Fasnacht“ steht für die sechs Tage vom „Schmutzigen“ Donnerstag oder „Schmotzige Dunschtich“ bis zum Aschermittwoch. Bei zahlreichen Umzügen und Narrentreffen bevölkern tanzende Hexen, Wilde Männer und viele andere bunte „Larven“ die Straßen sowie Gasthäuser der Orte. Ausgelassen amüsieren sie sich und treiben dabei ihre Scherze mit den Zuschauern.

Fasnacht, Fasching, Karneval – eine kleine Reise zu den Ursprüngen

Zwischen Weihnachten und den Fastentagen als Vorbereitung auf Ostern gab es seit dem Mittelalter in allen deutschen Regionen eine Zeit der „Anarchie“. Autoritäten – meist die Kirche – wurden verspottet; Regeln galten nicht mehr. Im Schutz von Masken und Verkleidungen genoss das einfache Volk seine „tollen Tage“. Die Menschen wussten, dass ab Aschermittwoch strenge Enthaltsamkeit geboten war – in jeder Hinsicht. Mit der Reformation verlor die „fünfte“ Jahreszeit vor allem in protestantischen Gegenden an Bedeutung. Der rheinische Karneval lebte ab 1815 wieder auf, als Köln nach Abzug der Franzosen preußisch besetzt wurde. Diese neuen Autoritäten machten die „Jecken“ damit lächerlich. In Südwestdeutschland überlebte die eher traditionelle schwäbisch-alemannische Fasnacht.

Bunte Tradition und überliefertes Erbe – die Fasnacht im Südwesten

Die fünfte Jahreszeit, wie sie in der Schwarzwaldregion gefeiert wird, grenzt sich in vielem vom rheinischen Karneval ab. Brauchtum und alte Sitten stehen im Vordergrund. Die örtlichen Vereine organisieren sich im Gegensatz zu den Karnevalsgesellschaften in sogenannten „Narrenzünften“. Sie pflegen die Bräuche ihrer jeweiligen Heimatorte und richten Veranstaltungen sowie die großen Umzüge aus. Charakteristisch sind die aufwendig gestalteten Kostüme, auch „Häs“ genannt, aus Holzmaske oder „Larve“ und dem Narrenkleid. Die Hästräger behalten ihre kunstvolle Ausstattung meist ein Leben lang und vererben sie zum Teil weiter. Die dargestellten Figuren beziehen sich häufig auf Sagen und überlieferte, tatsächliche Ereignisse.

Hexentanz und Wilde Leute – Gestalten der schwäbisch-alemannischen Fasnacht

Trotz einer Vielzahl an auffallenden Hästrägern lassen sich ein paar Grundfiguren ausmachen. Unter anderem tauchen immer wieder auf:

  • Teufelsgestalten – sie zählen zu den ältesten Verkleidungen. Aufgrund der vielen Verbote und Regeln der Kirche verkleideten sich die Feiernden erst recht als der„Leibhaftige“. Ein eindrucksvolles Beispiel ist heute der Fackelumzug der Triberger Teufel.
  • Fasnachtshexen – zu ihnen gehören die tanzenden Löffinger Hexen aus dem Hochschwarzwald.
  • Wilde Männer beziehungsweise Wilde Leute – waren für die Bauern und das gemeine Volk mit einfachen Mitteln günstig zu fertigen. Das Häs der Nussschalenhansele aus Wolfach etwa zeigt sich mit Tausenden Nussschalen besetzt.
  • Tiergestalten – ein Beispiel stellt der „Hoorige Bär“ dar, eine dick gepolsterte Strohfigur aus Singen oder der vogelartige „Nachtkrabb“ der Murrhardter Narrenzunft.

Daneben treiben noch zahlreiche andere Narren, Sagen- und Fabelwesen bei den Umzügen sowie Veranstaltungen ihr Unwesen – sehr zur Freude der Zuschauer.

Vom Larvenabstauben bis zum Narrensprung – ein paar Fasnachtsrituale

Rosenmontagsumzug in Todtnau
Rosenmontagsumzug in Todtnau
Die schwäbisch-alemannische Fasnacht startet am sechsten Januar vielerorts mit dem traditionellen „Larvenabstauben“. Die Teilnehmer befreien Masken und Gewänder vom Staub des vergangenen Jahres. Hexen, Teufel sowie sonstige Wesen erwachen wieder zum Leben und die tollen Tage können beginnen. Nach den ersten Veranstaltungen und Treffen der Narren geht es am „Schmutzigen“ Donnerstag in die heiße Phase. „Schmotzig“ steht in vielen alemannischen Dialekten für „fettig“. Der Name bezieht sich auf das Fettgebackene, beispielsweise die Krapfen oder die unverzichtbaren „Fasnachtskiechli“. Ein besonderes Erlebnis sind in vielen Orten im Südwesten die Umzüge, auch Narrensprünge genannt. Neben eindrucksvollen Hästrägern begleiten Musik und Fanfarenkapellen den Weg. Danach folgt lustiges Treiben in den Kneipen und Festsälen. Meist am Wochenende nach der närrischen Zeit findet im benachbarten Basel der Basler Morgenstreich statt. Das Scheiben schlagen ist das Ende der schwäbisch-alemannische Fasnacht.

 

Immer einen Besuch wert – das bunte Narrentreiben im Schwarzwald und der Region

Durch Berichte und zahlreiche Fernsehübertragungen boomt die Fasnacht im Schwarzwald bereits seit Jahren. Sehenswerte Umzüge finden unter anderem in Hornberg, Rottweil oder in Furtwangen statt. Gerade der Kontrast zum rheinischen Karneval macht für viele Gäste den besonderen Reiz aus. Die kunstvoll geschnitzten Masken und aufwendigen Kostüme ziehen die Zuschauer in ihren Bann. Ein Blick hinter die Kulissen und zu den historischen Wurzeln des bunten Treibens lohnt sich. Im Jahre 2014 wurde die schwäbisch-alemannische Fasnacht in das Verzeichnis des immateriellen Kulturerbes der UNESCO aufgenommen. Ein Kulturgut zum Mitfeiern!



 



--> Anmelden