Old town of Offenburg
Old town of Offenburg

Offenburg - Baroque jewel in the Black Forest

Capacity:

Einwohner: 60.000

The location

In the west of Baden-Württemberg we find the beautiful city of Offenburg. It is located in the southern Upper Rhine region and is the largest city in the Ortenaukreis. The former imperial city is now the district town of Ortenau. If you drive about 20 km in a north-easterly direction, you will follow Strasburg.

The history

The first written records of the city can be found as early as 1148. In 1240 it became a free imperial city. Thanks to a copper engraving by Merian and a drawing by Grimmelshausen, we know that it was surrounded by a triple wall. This was provided with towers and a bastion. These high security measures were presumably necessary because Emperor Friedrich II had silver denarii minted in the Offenburg imperial coin. Louis XIV carried out several military actions against Offenburg. The entire city burned down, except for the Capuchin Monastery and two houses, when a fire was started in 1698. During the Second World War, Offenburg was reoccupied by the French, which was no surprise given its geographical location.

Architecture

After the fire in 1698, the entire city was rebuilt, only the 1,4 km preserved city wall is older. The overall picture is still shaped today by the baroque.
To name a few examples.

  • Town hall, built in 1741
  • former royal court, built 1714-1717, today's police headquarters
  • Knight's house, 18th century
  • Capuchin monastery, built 1641 - 1647 a church belongs to it
  • Franciscan monastery, rebuilt after 1689

The picturesque old town offers even more impressive baroque buildings, these are only a small selection. They are all worth a visit.

Congress and trade fair city

With around 75.000 m² of indoor and outdoor space, Offenburg has made a name for itself as a trade fair location since the 60s. Since then, several trade fairs and congresses have taken place here every year. Among other things, the Upper Rhine Fair, the Euro Cheval or the Baden Wine Fair.

Traditions and Witches

104 women and men had to endure a witch trial in Offenburg. Unfortunately, 89 of them did not end well, they ended with an execution. Particularly noteworthy is Agnes Gotter, her steadfastness in the torture chamber probably saved many lives. Because after her trial, without a confession, the persecution ended in Offenburg. Today only traditional events during the Swabian-Alemannic Carnival remind us, for example, when the Fasent child is baptized on “Dirty Dunnerschdig”, the witch's meal and the burning of the straw witches on Shrove Tuesday. The largest and most famous sponsors are the Offenburg Witches 'Guild and the Old Historical Fools' Guild in Offenburg.


Offenburg is a city that combines tradition and the present. Find the latest progress at one of the many fairs or come by and celebrate with the witches by the big fire. If neither of these is to your liking, you can take a relaxed stroll through the old town and admire the baroque buildings.

Sunset at Offenburg
Image courtesy of Sina Ettmer - stock.adobe.com

No location found

More on the topic:
Todtnauberg
We start our mountain bike tour at the entrance to Todtnauberg (parking facilities), turn right into the downhill Kreuzmattstrasse, after the bridge into the ascending Ennerbachstrasse
... health resort near the Schluchsee 800-1100m above sea level. Awarded in the federal competitions “Family Holidays in Germany” Children & Youth Programs / Family Active Programs / Special Holiday Programs Hiking &
The Kniebishütte is located at an altitude of 935m on the Kniebis. In the immediate vicinity of the mountain station of the Lamm ski lift and directly on the Black Forest High Road. A dream

Altstadt von Offenburg
Altstadt von Offenburg

Offenburg – Barockes Juwel im Schwarzwald

Inhalt:

Einwohner: 60.000

Die Lage

In Baden-Württembergs Westen finden wir die schöne Stadt Offenburg. Sie liegt in der Region Südlicher Oberrhein und ist die größte Stadt im Ortenaukreis. Die frühere Reichsstadt ist heutzutage die Kreisstadt von Ortenau. Wenn man ungefähr 20 km in nordöstlicher Richtung fährt, kommt man nach Straßburg.

Die Geschichte

Bereits 1148 findet man die ersten urkundlichen Aufzeichnungen von der Stadt. Im Jahre 1240 ist sie bereits freie Reichsstadt geworden. Dank eines Kupferstiches von Merian und einer Zeichnung von Grimmelshausen weiß man, dass sie mit einer dreifachen Mauer umgeben war. Diese war versehen mit Türmen und einer Bastion. Diese hohen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen waren vermutlich erforderlich, weil Kaiser Friedrich II. in der Offenburger Reichsmünze, Silberdenare prägen ließ. Ludwig XIV führte mehrere militärische Aktionen gegen Offenburg aus. Die gesamte Stadt brannte nieder, bis auf das Kapuziner Kloster und zwei Häuser, als im Jahr 1698 Feuer gelegt wurde. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde Offenburg erneut von den Franzosen besetzt, was aufgrund der geographischen Lage keine Überraschung war.

Architektur

Nachdem Feuer 1698 wurde die gesamte Stadt wieder aufgebaut, einzig die mit 1,4 km noch erhaltene Stadtmauer ist älter. Das Gesamtbild ist heute noch vom Barock geprägt.
Um ein paar Beispiele zu nennen.

  • Rathaus, erbaut 1741
  • ehemaliger Königshof, erbaut 1714-1717, heutige Polizeidirektion
  • Ritterhaus, 18. Jahrhundert
  • Kapuzinerkloster, erbaut 1641 – 1647 dazu gehört eine Kirche
  • Franziskanterkloster, nach 1689 wieder aufgebaut

Die malerische Altstadt bietet noch mehr beeindruckende barocke Bauwerke, dies sind nur ein kleiner Ausschnitt. Einen Besuch sind sie alle Wert.

Kongress- und Messestadt

Mit ungefähr 75.000 m² Innen- und Außenfläche hat sich Offenburg, seit den 60er Jahren, einen Namen gemacht, als Messestandort. Seitdem finden jährlich mehrere Messen und Kongresse hier statt. Unter anderem die Oberrhein Messe, die Euro Cheval oder die badische Weinmesse.

Traditionen und Hexen

104 Frauen und Männer mussten in Offenburg einen Hexenprozess über sich ergehen lassen. 89 von ihnen kamen leider zu keinem guten Ende, sie endeten mit einer Hinrichtung. Besonders hervorzuheben ist Agnes Gotter, ihre Standhaftigkeit in der Folterkammer rettete vermutlich vielen das Leben. Denn nach ihrem Prozess, ohne Geständnis, endete die Verfolgung in Offenburg. Heute erinnern daran nur, in der schwäbische-alemannischen Fastnacht traditionelle Veranstaltungen, zum Beispiel, wenn das Fasent-Kind am „Schmutzige Dunnerschdig“ getauft wird, die Hexenmahlzeit und die Strohhexenverbrennung am Fastnachtsdienstag. Die größten und bekanntesten Träger sind die Offenburger Hexenzunft und die Althistorische Narrenzunft Offenburg.


Offenburg ist eine Stadt, die Traditionen und die Gegenwart vereint. Finde die neusten Fortschritte bei einer der vielen Messen oder komm vorbei und feier mit den Hexen am großen Feuer. Sollte das beides nicht deinen Geschmack treffen, spazierst du entspannt durch die Altstadt und bewundert die barocken Bauwerke.

Sonnenuntergang bei Offenburg
Bild mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Sina Ettmer - stock.adobe.com

Kein Standort gefunden

Weiteres zum Thema:
Wie schön es doch ist nach einem stressigen Tag in ein Hallenbad zu springen. Die folgenden Schwarzwald Gastgeber bieten Ihnen diese Möglichkeit
Todtnauberg
Wir starten unsere Mountain-Bike-Tour am Ortseingang Todtnauberg (Parkmöglichkeiten), fahren gleich rechts in die abwärts führende Kreuzmattstraße ein, nach der Brücke in die ansteigende Ennerbachstraße
…Luftkurort in der Nähe des Schluchsees 800-1100m ü.M. Ausgezeichnet in den Bundesbewerben “Familienferien in Deutschland” Kinder- & Jugendprogrammme / Familienaktivprogramme / Feriensonderprogramme Wander- &
In 935m Höhe auf dem Kniebis liegt die Kniebishütte. In unmittelbarer Nähe zur Bergstation vom Skilift Lamm und direkt an der Schwarzwaldhochstraße. Ein Traum