Mainau Island
Mainau Island

Mainau Island

Capacity:

Characteristics

Location: Mainau
Suitable for prams: ja

The Mainau Island is a small island (45 ha) in the north-western part of Lake Constance, the Überlinger See. It can be reached from the south bank via a bridge and has its own jetty. The next larger cities are Konstanz, Meersburg and Überlingen.

The island belongs to the Litzelstetten-Mainau district of the city of Konstanz and is owned by the Swedish-born aristocratic family Bernadotte. Due to the favorable climate at Lake Constance, palm trees and other Mediterranean plants grow in the castle park. That is why Mainau is also called the flower island in Lake Constance. It is accessible to tourism and a well-known excursion destination. On the Mainau there is also a small pet zoo (sheep, goats, etc.), a butterfly house with tropical butterflies, mainly of South American origin, flying around freely between the visitors, a peacock enclosure and some dining facilities. The Mainau is located on the Upper Swabian Baroque Road.

The first traces of settlement date from the Neolithic around 3000 BC. In the year 15 BC The Romans subjugated the local Celts and used the island for a fort, a shipyard and a naval station for the Roman Bodensee war fleet.

Reichenau Monastery owned the island from the 9th to the 13th century. Then she went to the Teutonic Knights. Under their order builder Johann Caspar Bagnato, the construction of the baroque church of St. Mary and the baroque castle began in 1732. The frescoes in the church were created by Franz Joseph Spiegler in 1737/1738. Due to the secularization under Napoléon Bonaparte in 1806, the Teutonic Order also lost the Mainau; various private owners took turns until the island was acquired as a summer residence by the Baden Grand Duke Friedrich I in 1853.

He had the island redesigned by his court gardeners Chr. Schlichter and above all Ludwig Eberling, who from 1856 was in the service of the Grand Duke for 42 years. Mediterranean and exotic plants were procured, avenues, gardens, an arboretum and a new system of paths were created. The island owes its present appearance to Friedrich's visions and ideas and the skill of his court gardener. Even if Mainau was left to decay after Friedrich's death in 1907, the foundation stone for the much-vaunted flower island was laid during his reign.

By inheritance, the island came into the possession of the Swedish royal family in 1928. Gustaf Lennart Nikolaus Paul Bernadotte retired to the Mainau after leaving the royal family of Sweden in 1932 and expanded it into today's publicly accessible flower island. He died on December 21, 2004 at the age of 95 in the island's castle.

In 1974 the entire Mainau was brought into the Lennart Bernadotte Foundation. Insel Mainau is managed by Insel Mainau GmbH, whose share capital is 99% owned by the foundation and 1% owned by the Bernadotte family. Insel Mainau GmbH is a private company without public subsidies. Countess Sonja Bernadotte was managing director of Mainau GmbH from 1981 to 2006, and in 2007 her eldest daughter, Countess Bettina Bernadotte, took over this position.

In 2005, 1,2 million tourists came to the island of Mainau. In 2007 the artist Stefan Szczesny wants to convert the island into a total work of art.

Images courtesy of Photo by RitaE on Pixabay and Photo by merica on Pixabay
More on the topic:
Ühlingen-Birkendorf
Take the ball, get set, go! The ball is constantly rolling on the hiking trail for children, the KugelWaldPfad, in Ühlingen-Birkendorf. Nobody gets bored on this children's hiking trail,
Gambsheim
On 70 m2, learn the background to the fish ladder, how it works and what you need to know about the more than 30 species of fish that use the structure. The exhibition
With bark mulch or pine cones, the barefoot path in Muggenbrunn has been restored by the citizens in the last two weeks and can now be walked again

> Startseite > Ausflugsziele > Sehenswertes > Insel Mainau

Insel Mainau


Die Insel Mainau ist eine kleine Insel (45 ha) im nordwestlichen Teil des Bodensees, dem Überlinger See. Sie ist von dessen Südufer über eine Brücke zu erreichen und verfügt über einen eigenen Schiffsanleger. Die nächsten größeren Städte sind Konstanz, Meersburg und Überlingen.

Die Insel gehört zum Stadtteil Litzelstetten-Mainau der Stadt Konstanz und befindet sich im Besitz der schwedisch-stämmigen Adelsfamilie Bernadotte. Bedingt durch das günstige Bodenseeklima wachsen hier Palmen und andere mediterrane Pflanzen im Schlosspark. Daher wird die Mainau auch als Blumeninsel im Bodensee bezeichnet. Sie ist für den Tourismus zugänglich und ein bekanntes Ausflugsziel. Auf der Mainau gibt es auch noch einen kleinen Haustierzoo (Schafe, Ziegen u.ä.), ein Schmetterlingshaus mit frei zwischen den Besuchern umherfliegenden tropischen Schmetterlingen vor allem südamerikanischer Herkunft, ein Pfauengehege sowie einige gastronomische Einrichtungen. Die Mainau liegt an der Oberschwäbischen Barockstraße.

Die ersten Siedlungsspuren stammen aus der Jungsteinzeit um 3000 v. Chr. Im Jahre 15 v. Chr. unterwarfen die Römer die ortsansässigen Kelten und nutzten die Insel für ein Kastell, eine Schiffswerft und eine Flottenstation der römischen Bodenseekriegsflotte.

Das Kloster Reichenau besaß die Insel vom 9. bis zum 13. Jahrhundert. Danach ging sie an die Deutschordensritter. Unter ihrem Ordensbaumeister Johann Caspar Bagnato wurde 1732 mit dem Bau der barocken Kirche St. Marien und des Barockschlosses begonnen. Die Fresken der Kirche wurden 1737/1738 von Franz Joseph Spiegler angelegt. Durch die Säkularisation 1806 unter Napoléon Bonaparte verlor der Deutsche Orden auch die Mainau; verschiedene private Besitzer wechselten sich ab, bis die Insel 1853 vom badischen Großherzog Friedrich I. als Sommersitz erworben wurde.

Dieser ließ die Insel durch seine Hofgärtner Chr. Schlichter und vor allem Ludwig Eberling, der ab 1856 für 42 Jahre in Diensten des Großherzogs stand, umgestalten. So wurden mediterrane und exotische Pflanzen beschafft, Alleen, Gärten, ein Arboretum und ein neues Wegesystem angelegt. Friedrichs Visionen und Ideen und dem Geschick seines Hofgärtners verdankt die Insel ihr heutiges Aussehen. Auch wenn die Mainau nach dem Tod Friedrichs 1907 zunächst wieder dem Verfall preisgegeben war, so wurde während seiner Regentschaft doch der Grundstein für die viel gerühmte Blumeninsel gelegt.

Durch Erbschaft gelangte die Insel 1928 in den Besitz des schwedischen Königshauses. Gustaf Lennart Nikolaus Paul Bernadotte zog sich nach seinem Austritt aus dem Königshaus von Schweden im Jahre 1932 auf die Mainau zurück und baute sie zur heutigen öffentlich zugänglichen Blumeninsel aus. Er starb am 21. Dezember 2004 im Alter von 95 Jahren im Schloss der Insel.

1974 wurde die gesamte Mainau in die Lennart Bernadotte-Stiftung eingebracht. Die Insel Mainau wird geführt von der Insel Mainau GmbH, deren Stammkapital zu 99% im Besitz der Stiftung und zu 1% im Besitz der Familie Bernadotte ist. Die Insel Mainau GmbH ist ein Privatunternehmen ohne öffentliche Subventionen. Von 1981 bis 2006 war Gräfin Sonja Bernadotte Geschäftsführerin der Mainau GmbH, 2007 übernahm ihre älteste Tochter Gräfin Bettina Bernadotte diese Position.

2005 kamen 1,2 Mio. Touristen auf die Insel Mainau. 2007 will der Künstler Stefan Szczesny die Insel zu einem Gesamtkunstwerk umbauen.

http://www.mainau.de/


Ausflugsziele in der Region


 SEA LIFE Konstanz
 Konstanz • 5.6km
 Affenberg Salem
 Salem • 8.2km
 Conny Land
 Lipperswil • 18.5km
 Rothaus-Zäpfle-Turm
 Singen (Hohentwiel) • 36.8km
 Siblinger Randenturm
 Hintere Winkelstauden • 41.8km
 Freilichtmuseum ob Eck
 Neuhausen ob Eck • 43.3km
 Lehenkopfturm
 Katzentalerhof • 44.4km
 Hochfirstturm
 Emmingen-Liptingen • 44.6km
 Riesenbühlturm
 Schluchsee • 46.3km

* Enfernungsangaben sind Luftlinie!

Kontakt

Mainau GmbH
78465 Insel Mainau
Telefon: +49 (0) 7531-303-0
Telefax: +49 (0) 7531-303-248

E-Mail: info@mainau.de

Erfahrungsbericht

Erfahrungsbericht schreiben

Auf jeden Fall sehenswert. Nicht billig aber seinen Preis wert. Am besten bei schönem Wetter hin gehen.
04.07.2013

Erfahrungsbericht schreiben:

 
Bewertung:
 
Bewertung schreiben:


Schwarzwald Unterkünfte



Schwarzwald App

Icon Schwarzwald App
Ausflugsziele, Webcams blitzschnell auf dem Smartphone
Download
Booking.com

Translation

Anmelden