Search
Generic filters
Winter sports on the Feldberg
Winter sports on the Feldberg

Enjoy the Black Forest actively in winter

Capacity:

Add to favorites Remove from favorites

The Black Forest is not only worth a trip in summer. The popular holiday region, which has become famous at the latest through films from the 50s like “Schwarzwaldmädel”, is one of the warmest and sunniest in Germany. It inspires all year round with its incomparable natural beauty and the variety of opportunities to be active in the fresh air.

More than 70 mountains and peaks between 1000 and 1493 meters in the sky characterize the Black Forest as Germany's largest and highest low mountain range File

This makes it an almost guaranteed snow and therefore winter sports area even in times of rapid climate change. Here you can enjoy the whole range of winter sports on freezing cold days. Experienced skiers are drawn to the slopes. Snowboarders have fun with rapid jumps on the halfpipes. Cross-country trails invite you to take a leisurely sport, and the Black Forest can also be explored in all its winter splendor on snowshoes or in hiking boots. If you are drawn to the ice, you can not only do your laps on the ice rink and do pirouettes, but also climb through icy waterfalls as a special highlight in the dead of winter.

Snow reports and webcams in the individual locations always provide up-to-date information so that even a spontaneous short vacation can be planned thoroughly.

The joint-friendly trend sport Nordic Walking, for which the Black Forest is made, is even suitable for the inexperienced. Supported by two pieces that are reminiscent of ski poles, it goes through forests and meadows, but also up to lofty heights. Breaks in between are rewarded with panoramas that are second to none. For beginners there are gentle climbs such as from the Altglashütten to the Schuppenhörnle. The almost 2,8 kilometers can easily be covered in half an hour.

Football fans shouldn't miss a visit to the Black Forest Stadium. SC Freiburg is one of the outliers this season and currently has a chance of winning the title or at least a UEFA Cup place. live watch in the football stadium or at least showing your support in football betting makes the encounters doubly exciting.

But despite all the love for football, the Black Forest in the border triangle between France, Germany and Switzerland is and remains a ski stronghold that has gone down in German history.

1894: Ski enthusiast in Todtnau

It all started with the French diplomat Raymond Pilet, who in February 1891 took the recently built railway up to Lake Titisee, where he strapped Norwegian snowshoes to his feet and was the first to ski the highest Summit of the Black Forest climbed. He trudged up the Feldberg through the snow for around ten kilometers before he reached an altitude of 1493 meters.

Skiing gained popularity. Just ten months after Pilet's pioneering achievement, six recreational athletes founded the at the foot of the Feldberg Todtnau ski club. A “guide to snowshoeing”, available for one mark, advertised the boards not only as a means of transport for mountain farmers, but also as a means of stimulating body and mind. Skiing became recreational fun.

The athletes from the Black Forest kept their leading role in sport for a long time. When the German Ski Association was founded in 1905, 1550 members came from the Black Forest. The neighboring Bavaria brought in just 280 members.

The Black Forest athletes also set the tone when it comes to emancipation. The first women were photographed on skis as early as 1897 when they were practicing with the men on the Feldberg. The First World War put an end to the supremacy of the Black Forest. Plans to host the first Winter Olympics in Feldberg in 1916 became obsolete when the war broke out.

Instead, the Bavarian Garmisch-Partenkirchen became the first German venue in 1936. Since then, the white and blue state has remained a leader, especially when it comes to competitive sports.

In return, the Black Forest has retained its tranquility and tranquility on the slopes, which the first club members already knew as worry-freeing heights.

But non-athletes can also find relaxation and stimulation in the Black Forest. Culture and history lovers are in good hands in Freiburg. The cathedral, which is more than 700 years old, captivates with perfect elements from Gothic and Romanesque architecture. The 116 meter high tower with its octagonal superstructure is considered to be the most beautiful work of Gothic architecture in Germany. A slow tour around Münster is worth it because of the numerous frescoes that adorn the masonry, including gargoyles with demonic grimaces. From the accessible cathedral tower, visitors can enjoy an excellent view of the entire city, including the Kaiserstuhl and the Rhine plain. Magnificent historical buildings such as the Kornhaus and the Alte Wache line the picturesque Münsterplatz.

The Black Forest is also famous for its health resorts, which attracted Europe's nobility in the 18th and 19th centuries and later the money nobility. Baden-Baden has always been number one. In the Friedrichsbad, a nude bath with an unusual mixture of hot air, thermal steam and thermal movement bath, the writer Mark Twain once had a good time.

The Caracalla thermal baths are family-friendly with indoor and outdoor pools, waterfalls and an aromatic steam bath. The Roman bath ruins open to the public are a reminder of the beginnings of bathing culture.

Bad Wildbad

Bad Wildbad, hidden deep in the Enz Valley, is small but beautiful. The international spa with its oriental-style Palais Thermal is also known for its Rossini concerts, among other things. But as everywhere in the Black Forest, recreational sports are not neglected. More modern trends are taken into account, for example, with a mountain bike park.

Germany's highest waterfalls can be found in Triberg. The floods of the Gutach rush over seven cascades 163 meters deep. In winter, the tourist attraction turns into an icy natural spectacle when the frost turns the waterfalls into a glittering ice palace.

But also the culinary delights are not neglected in the Black Forest. The kitchen benefits from all sorts of influences from the border triangle. Soups with pancakes, bacon vespers with farmer's bread, bacon and bacon, liver and black sausage, or pancakes cut into small pieces warm body and soul in winter.

Numerous star chefs have left their mark in the Black Forest - another reason for the region's popularity when it comes to home holidays. The accommodation establishments in the Black Forest counted more than 8,3 million visitors in 2017 and the trend is still increasing.

More on the topic:
78 lifts with just one season ticket - pure winter fun! One ski pass for “almost” everything, for more than 100 km of slopes and 78 lifts
The Wolfach Bike Park has been attracting athletes from near and far for years when the weather is nice. It was created in 2002 on the initiative of Thomas Moser, the

> Startseite > Urlaub-Aktiv > Den Schwarzwald im Winter aktiv genießen

Den Schwarzwald im Winter aktiv genießen

Wintersport am Feldberg
Wintersport am Feldberg

Der Schwarzwald ist nicht nur im Sommer eine Reise wert. Die beliebte Urlaubsregion, die spätestens durch 50er-Jahre Heimatfilme wie „Schwarzwaldmädel“ berühmt geworden ist, gehört zu den wärmsten und sonnigsten der Bundesrepublik. Sie begeistert das gesamte Jahr über mit ihrer unvergleichlichen Naturschönheit und der Vielfalt an Möglichkeiten, an der frischen Luft aktiv zu sein.

Mehr als 70 zwischen 1000 und 1493 Meter in den Himmel ragende Berge und Gipfel zeichnen den Schwarzwald als Deutschlands größtes und höchstes Mittelgebirge aus.

Das macht ihn auch in Zeiten des rapiden Klimawandels zum fast garantierten Schnee- und damit Wintersportgebiet. Hier lässt sich an klirrend kalten Tagen die ganze Bandbreite der Wintersportarten genießen. Erfahrene Skifahrer zieht es auf die Pisten. Snowboarder vergnügen sich mit rasanten Sprüngen auf den Halfpipes. Langlauf-Loipen laden zum etwas gemächlicheren sportlichen Treiben an, und auch auf Schneeschuhen oder in Wanderstiefeln lässt sich der Schwarzwald in seiner vollen winterlichen Pracht erkunden. Wen es aufs Eis zieht, der kann nicht nur auf der Schlittschuhbahn seine Runden ziehen und Pirouetten drehen, sondern im tiefsten Winter als besonderen Höhepunkt auch durch vereiste Wasserfälle klettern.

Schneeberichte und Webcams in den einzelnen Orten liefern stets aktuelle Informationen, sodass selbst ein spontaner Kurzurlaub gründlich geplant werden kann.

Sogar für Ungeübte eignet sich der gelenkschonende Trendsport Nordic Walking, für den der Schwarzwald wie gemacht ist. Von zwei an Skistöckern erinnernden Stücken unterstützt geht es durch Wälder und Auen, aber auch hinauf in luftige Höhen. Verschnaufpausen zwischendurch werden mit Panoramen belohnt, die ihresgleichen suchen. Für Anfänger bieten sich sanfte Anstiege wie von der Altglashütten bis zum Schuppenhörnle an. Die knapp 2,8 Kilometer lassen sich leicht in einer halben Stunde zurücklegen.

Fußballfans sollten sich einen Besuch im Schwarzwald-Stadion nicht entgehen lassen. Der SC Freiburg gehört zu den Herausreißern in dieser Spielzeit und kann sich derzeit sogar eine Chance auf den Titel oder zumindest einen UEFA-Cup Platz ausrechnen. Live im Fußballstadion zugucken oder zumindest bei Fußballwetten seine Unterstützung zeigen, macht die Begegnungen doppelt spannend.

Doch bei aller Liebe zum Fußball ist und bleibt der Schwarzwald im Dreiländereck zwischen Frankreich, Deutschland und der Schweiz eine Skihochburg, die in die deutsche Geschichte eingegangen ist.

1894: Skisportbegeisterte in Todtnau
1894: Skisportbegeisterte in Todtnau
Den Anfang machte der französische Diplomat Raymond Pilet, der im Februar 1891 mit den jüngst gebauten Eisenbahn bis hoch zum Titisee fuhr, sich dort norwegische Schneeschuhe an die Füße schnallte und als erster auf Skiern den höchsten Gipfel des Schwarzwalds erklomm. Rund zehn Kilometer stapfte er dafür den Feldberg hinauf durch den Schnee, eher er auf 1493 Meter Höhe ankam.

Skifahren gewann an Popularität. Nur zehn Monate nach Pilets Pionierleistung gründeten sechs Freizeitsportler am Fuß des Feldbergs den Skiclub Todtnau. Eine für eine Mark erhältliche „Anleitung zum Schneeschuhlaufen“ warb für die Bretterln nicht nur als Fortbewegungsmittel für Bergbauern, sondern auch als Körper und Geist belebende Vergnügungen. Skilaufen wurde zum Freizeitspaß.

Die führende Rolle im Sport behielten die Atlethen aus dem Schwarzwald geraume Zeit bei. Als 1905 der Deutsche Skiverband gegründet wurde, stammten 1550 Mitglieder aus dem Schwarzwald. Das benachbarte Bayern brachte gerade mal 280 Mitglieder ein.

Auch in Sachen Emanzipation zeigten sich die Schwarzwald-Sportler tonangebend. Bereits 1897 wurden die ersten Frauen auf Skiern fotografiert, als sie gemeinsam mit den Männern auf dem Feldberg übten. Der Erste Weltkrieg machte der Vorherrschaft des Schwarzwalds ein Ende. Pläne für die Ausrichtung der ersten olympischen Winterspiele 1916 in Feldberg wurden mit dem Kriegsausbruch hinfällig.

Stattdessen wurde das bayerische Garmisch-Partenkirchen 1936 erster deutscher Austragungsort. Seitdem ist der weiß-blaue Bundesstaat führend geblieben, vor allem was den Wettkampfsport angeht.

Dafür hat sich der Schwarzwald seine Stille und Beschaulichkeit auf den Pisten erhalten, die schon die ersten Clubmitglieder als sorgenbannende Höhen kannten.

Doch auch Nicht-Sportler finden im Schwarzwald Erholung und Anregung zugleich. Kultur- und Geschichtsliebhaber sind in Freiburg gut aufgehoben. Das mehr als 700 Jahre alte Münster besticht mit vollendeten Elementen aus gotischer und romanischer Architektur. Der 116 Meter hohen Turm samt achteckigem Oberbau gilt als schönstes Werk der gotischen Baukunst in Deutschland. Ein langsamer Rundgang um Münster lohnt sich schon allein wegen der zahlreichen Fresken, die das Mauerwerk schmücken, darunter Wasserspeier mit dämonischen Fratzen. Vom begehbaren Münsterturm aus genießen Besucher einen hervorragenden Ausblick über die gesamte Stadt, inklusive Kaiserstuhl und Rheinebene. Prachtvolle historische Gebäude wie das Kornhaus und die Alte Wache säumen den malerischen Münsterplatz.

Der Schwarzwald ist zudem berühmt für seine Kurorte, die bereits im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert Europas Adel und später Geldadel anzog. Baden-Baden ist dabei seit jeher die Nummer eins. Im Friedrichsbad, einem Nacktbad mit einer ungewöhnlichen Mischung aus Heißluft-, Thermaldampf- und Thermalbewegungsbad, ließ es sich einst schon Schriftsteller Mark Twain gut gehen.

Familienfreundlich ist die Caracalla-Therme mit Innen- und Außenbecken, Wasserfällen und Aromadampfbad. An die Anfänge der Badekultur erinnern die zur Besichtigung freigegebenen römischen Badruinen.

Bad Wildbad
Bad Wildbad
Klein, aber fein ist das tief im Enztal versteckte Bad Wildbad. Das internationale Kurbad mit seinem orientalisch angehauchten Palais Thermal ist außerdem unter anderem für seine Rossini-Konzerte bekannt. Doch wie überall im Schwarzwald kommt auch der Freizeitsport nicht zu kurz. Moderneren Trends wird zum Beispiel mit einem Mountainbike-Park Rechnung getragen.

Deutschlands höchste Wasserfälle sind in Triberg zu finden. Über sieben Kaskaden stürzen die Fluten der Gutach 163 Meter in die Tiefe. Im Winter wird die Touristenattraktion zum eisigen Naturspektakel, wenn der Frost die Wasserfälle zum glitzernden Eispalast erstarren lässt.

Doch auch die Gaumenfreuden kommen im Schwarzwald nicht zu kurz. Dabei profitiert die Küche von allerlei Einflüssen aus dem Dreiländereck. Suppen mit Flädle, Speckvesper mit Bauernbrot, Bauch- und Schinkenspeck, Leber- und Schwarzwurst, oder in kleine Stücke gechnittene Pfannkuchen wärmen im Winter Leib und Seele.

Zahlreiche Sterneköche haben im Schwarzwald ihre Spuren hinterlassen – ein weiterer Grund für die Beliebtheit der Region, was den Heimaturlaub anbelangt. Mehr als 8,3 Millionen Besucher zählten die Beherbergungsbetriebe im Schwarzwald im Jahr 2017 und die Tendenz ist weiterhin steigend.



--> Anmelden