Staufen Castle in spring © Erich Spiegelhalter / TI Staufen
Staufen Castle in spring © Erich Spiegelhalter / TI Staufen

Flower magic and wine festivals on the Wiiwegli

Content:

Spring hike in the Markgräflerland

“Freed from the ice. . .

... are streams and brooks through the lovely, invigorating look of spring; in the valley there is green hope. The old winter, in its weakness, retreated into the rough mountains. ”What inspires the knowledge-hungry Renaissance scientist in Goethe's“ Faust ”during the Easter walk can be easily understood in the brightly colored valleys on the western edge of the Black Forest:“ Here I am Man, I can be here! "

 

Nowhere in Germany does spring begin as early and sustainably as in “Markgräflerland”. "Vierteleschlotzer" enjoy the wine, the sun and the hearty delicacies of the Baden cuisine at wine festivals and in the winegrowers' ostrich taverns, which are now open again.

The Markgräflerland is a region favored by sun, wind, landscape and history - and it is "Gutedelland". In 1780, the then sovereign introduced the Fendant grape from Vevey on Lake Geneva. For a long time Gutedel was “only” blended and bulk wine, but winemakers in the region have long been making first-class, varietal Chasselas and Gutedel of the highest quality.

Culture between vines

The “Markgräfler Wiiwegli” leads around 80 kilometers from Weil am Rhein to the Black Forest metropolis Freiburg. Our tip for an extended Easter walk: Take four or five days for this landscape, in which Goethe went into raptures, the Romans built one of their most beautiful thermal baths north of the Alps and in which nature, enjoyment and wellness can be combined today, such as hardly anywhere else.

You can go to the first evening Balinea-Therms in Bad bellingen let it fade away. The second day is concluded in the finely dressed garbage dump below the Roman bath ruins and the wine terraces of Badenweiler.

Finally, the third stage leads with a dangling through the old mining town of Sulzburg with its mighty pre-Romanesque church of St. Cyriak and a mystically located Jewish cemetery in the "Fauststadt" Staufen. In 3 Goethe's "Faust" is said to have died here during one of his alchemical experiments in the Löwen inn.

The 4th stage of the “Wiiwegli” finally takes the hiker to Freiburg, where he can review the most beautiful sections of the route under the “most beautiful tower of Christendom” on Münsterplatz with a Gutedel or another of the outstanding Baden wines.

Hiking without luggage

Since the end and starting points of the daily stages can easily be reached by train, the “Wiiwegli” experience can of course be broken down into several days. But it only gets really round when you take four or five days to enjoy it carefree.

Route map

More on the topic:
Badenweiler
In Badenweiler, under a modern glass roof, are the largest ancient bath ruins north of the Alps. It was part of the everyday life of a Roman occupation soldier
St.. Peter
Integrated into the rectangle of the monastery complex, the Baroque church, built between 1724-1727, rises almost majestically over the village. Responsible for the construction
Bad Teinach
In the romantic Teinach Valley, embedded in wonderful coniferous forests, protected from rough winds, Bad Teinach is located with its recognized medicinal springs. Here you can find everything about

> Startseite > Schwarzwaldnews > Blütenzauber und Weinfeste am Wiiwegli

Blütenzauber und Weinfeste am Wiiwegli

Burg Staufen im Frühling <br>© Erich Spiegelhalter/TI Staufen
Burg Staufen im Fr?hling
? Erich Spiegelhalter/TI Staufen

Frühlingswanderung im Markgräflerland

„Vom Eise befreit . . .
…sind Strom und Bäche durch des Frühlings holden, belebenden Blick; im Tale grünet Hoffnungsglück. Der alte Winter, in seiner Schwäche, zog sich in raue Berge zurück.“ Was den erkenntnishungrigen Renaissance-Wissenschaftler in Goethes „Faust“ beim Osterspaziergang so begeistert, das lässt sich in den blütenbunten Tälern am Westrand des Schwarzwaldes leicht nachvollziehen: „Hier bin ich Mensch, hier darf ich’s sein!“
 
Nirgendwo in Deutschland beginnt der Frühling so früh und nachhaltig wie im „Markgräflerland“. Auf Weinfesten und in den jetzt schon wieder geöffneten Straußwirtschaften der Winzer genießen „Vierteleschlotzer“ den Wein, die Sonne und die herzhaften Köstlichkeiten der badischen Küche.

Das Markgräflerland ist eine von Sonne, Wind, Landschaft und Geschichte begünstigte Region – und es ist „Gutedelland“. 1780 führte der damalige Landesherr die Fendant-Traube aus Vevey am Genfer See ein. Lange war der Gutedel „nur“ Verschnitt- und Massenwein, doch längst bauen Winzerinnen und Winzer der Region erstklassige sortentypische Chasselas und Gutedel von höchster Güte aus.

Kultur zwischen Reben

Rund 80 Kilometer weit führt das „Markgräfler Wiiwegli“ von Weil am Rhein bis in die Schwarzwaldmetropole Freiburg. Unser Tipp für einen ausgedehnten Osterspaziergang: Man nehme sich vier oder fünf Tage Zeit für diese Landschaft, in der Goethe ins Schwärmen geriet, die Römer eine ihrer schönsten Thermenanlagen nördlich der Alpen errichteten und in der sich heute Natur, Genuss und Wellness kombinieren lassen, wie kaum anderswo.

Den ersten Abend kann man schon in den Balinea-Thermen in Bad Bellingen ausklingen lassen. Den zweiten Tag beschließt man im fein herausgeputzten Müllheim unterhalb der römischen Badruine und der Weinterrassen von Badenweiler.

Die 3. Etappe schließlich führt mit einem Schlenker durch das alte Bergbaustädtchen Sulzburg mit seiner mächtigen vorromanischen Kirche St. Cyriak und einem mystisch im Wald gelegenen jüdischen Friedhof in die „Fauststadt“ Staufen. 1539 soll hier Goethes „Faust“ bei einem seiner alchemistischen Experimente im Gasthaus Löwen ums Leben gekommen sein.

Die 4. Etappe des „Wiiwegli“ bringt den Wanderer schließlich nach Freiburg, wo er unterm „schönsten Turm der Christenheit“ auf dem Münsterplatz bei einem Gutedel oder einem anderen der herausragenden badischen Weine noch einmal die schönsten Streckenabschnitte Revue passieren lassen kann.

Wandern ohne Gepäck

Da die End- und Startpunkte der Tagesetappen leicht mit der Bahn zu erreichen sind, lässt sich das Erlebnis „Wiiwegli“ natürlich tageweise stückeln. So richtig rund wird es aber erst, wenn man sich vier oder fünf Tage Zeit nimmt, um unbeschwert zu genießen.


Unterkünfte in der Umgebung

Ihre Unterkunft hier anzeigen!

Anmelden