Glass painter Georg Straub
Glass painter Georg Straub

Wolfach honors glass painter Georg Straub

Content:

Exhibition of the association “Kultur im Schloss” from August 8th to October 3rd / local population asked for help

 

The association “Kultur im Schloss” wants to pay homage to the great artist and well-deserved son of the city, glass painter Georg Straub, with a large exhibition. After all, he and Josef Krausbeck laid the foundation for the Wolfacher Heimatmuseum. His works are to be exhibited from August 8th to October 3rd in the rooms of the Heimatmuseum, which is currently being renovated and rebuilt. In order to be able to implement the big project, the association needs the help of the population.

 

Wolfach (md). The basis of the large Straub exhibition, which the “Kultur im Schloss” association will hold in the rooms of the local history museum in August and September, is the legacy that the glass painter's family was able to acquire with the help of a sponsor. Many Wolfach families are in possession of original works of art by the glass painter (glass pictures, drawings, pictures, documents). The association is very interested in exhibiting these works by the glass painter as well. He assures the lenders to treat the works of art with the utmost care and to insure that they will be returned for the duration of the exhibition. Of course, the association is also happy when exhibits are “donated” to the museum as permanent loans. In addition to the exhibits, the association is also interested in background knowledge about the “Strauben-Schorsch”. Anyone who can contribute to the artist's life and work with stories is most welcome as an informant at the “Kultur im Schloss” association.

 

The association therefore appeals to the population: “Help us! Contact a member of “Kultur im Scshloss” or the first chairman Christian Oberfell, Sonnenmatte 17, 77709 Oberwolfach, tel. 0151 226 303 27 (mobile) or 07834/868396, e-mail coberfell@mac.com Information can also be obtained from the tourist information office in the town hall or from Waltraud Carosi (Moser bookstore in Wolfacher Vorstadt).

 

The glass painter Georg Straub was born on May 23, 1882 as the son of the painter and then Wolfacher Ochsenwirt Johann Georg Straub, a talented decorative painter who worked for a long time in Bavarian royal castles. After finishing school, the young ox landlord's son began his training as a glass painter in Karlsruhe, learned and worked in well-known glass painting workshops in Stuttgart, Dresden, Bielefeld, Lucerne, Offenburg, Frankfurt and finally in Baselwhere he created great works of art. His study trips took him through half of Europe, to France, Italy, Spain and Switzerland. But he always remained closely connected to his beloved hometown Wolfach.

 

After the First World War, Georg Straub settled in Wolfach. He lived and worked in the “Molerhüsle” in the Wolfacher Vorstadt. The house no longer exists, it was demolished in the course of the suburban renovation. Straub was a so-called history painter. He found his motifs for stained glass mainly in medieval representations. He was considered an excellent expert on heraldry, the legends of the saints and symbolism. In addition to glass painting, Straub also mastered drawing pencils, ink pens and wooden engravers to make sketches of the Black Forest homeland or portraits. His graphic works not only adorned newspaper reports, they can also be found in Franz Disch's chronicle. Strraub also earned his living as a commercial artist. He designed posters and commemorative publications for Wolfach clubs. For example, the designs for the medals of the Free Fools Guild in Wolfach come from him and he designed the certificate for Wolfach's honorary citizenship. But Straub has also made a name for himself as a poet.

 

Georg Straub did not get rich with his work. The artist lived with his wife Gertrud, née Schöck, whom he married in 1925, in modest circumstances in the Wolfach suburb. The marriage remained childless, and Straub showed an unusually high level of commitment to his hometown of Wolfach. With his friend Josef Krausbeck and artist colleague Eduard Trautwein, he laid the foundations for the local history museum in 1936 and after the Second World War he helped Krausbeck to rebuild the completely destroyed and devastated museum.

 

Georg Straub was also the director of the Wolfach Historical Society, a fool's father and a member of the city council. Straub died on December 3, 1959 at the age of 77 from heart failure. The day before, he had amused Wolfach's senior citizens with his contributions to the Altenkaffee.

More on the topic:
Where is the highest mountain in Baden-Württemberg? Where was the most successful German television series filmed? Where did US President Franklin D. Roosevelt spend his honeymoon? Where are located

> Startseite > Schwarzwaldnews > Wolfach ehrt Glasmaler Georg Straub

Wolfach ehrt Glasmaler Georg Straub

Glasmaler Georg Straub
Glasmaler Georg Straub

Ausstellung des Vereins "Kultur im Schloss" vom 8. August bis 3. Oktober / Bevölkerung um Mithilfe gebeten

 

Mit einer großen Ausstellung will der Verein "Kultur im Schloss" den großen Künstler und verdienten Sohn der Stadt, Glasmaler Georg Straub die Reverenz erweisen. Schließlich hat er mit Josef Krausbeck auch den Grundstock für das Wolfacher Heimatmuseum gelegt. In den Räumen des Heimatmuseums, das derzeit saniert und umgebaut wird, sollen seine Werke vom 8. August bis 3. Oktober ausgestellt werden. Um das große Vorhaben umsetzen zu können, braucht der Verein aber die Hilfe der Bevölkerung.

 

Wolfach (md). Grundlage der großen Straub-Ausstellung, die der Verein "Kultur im Schloss" in den Monaten Agust und September in den Räumen des Heimatmuseums durchführen wird, ist der Nachlass, der mit Hilfe eines Sponsors von der Familie des Glasmalers erworben werden konnte. Viele Wolfacher Familien sind in Besitz von Originalkunstwerken des Glasmalers (Glasbilder, Zeichnungen, Bilder, Schriftstücke). Der Verein hat großes Interesse daran, auch diese Werke des Glasmalers auszustellen. Er versichert den Leihgebern, die Kunstwerke pfleglichst zu behandeln, sie für die Dauer der Ausstellung zu versichern sie anschließend wieder zurückzugeben. Natürlich freut sich der Verein auch darüber, wenn Ausstellungsstücke dem Museum als Dauerleihgaben "gespendet" werden. Neben den Exponaten ist der Verein aber auch an Hintergrundwissen über den "Strauben-Schorsch" interessiert. Wer mit Geschichten zum Leben und Werk des Künstlers beitragen kann, ist beim Verein "Kultur im Schloss" als Informant höchst willkommen.

 

Der Verein appelliert deshalb an die Bevölkerung: "Hlefen Sie uns! Wenden Sie sich an ein Mitglied von "Kultur im Scshloss" oder an den ersten Vorsitzenden Christian Oberfell, Sonnenmatte 17, 77709 Oberwolfach, tel. 0151 226 303 27 (mobil) oder 07834/868396, E-Mail  coberfell@mac.com   Infos nehmen auch die Mitarbeiter der Tourist-Info im Rathaus oder Waltraud Carosi (Buchhandlung Moser in der Wolfacher Vorstadt) entgegen.

 

Der Glasmaler Georg Straub wurde am 23. Mai 1882 als Sohn des Malers und damaligen Wolfacher Ochsenwirts Johann Georg Straub geboren, ein begabter Dekorationsmaler, der lange in bayerischen Königsschlössern tätig war. Nach der Schulzeit begann der junge Ochsenwirtssohn seine Ausbildung als Glasmaler in Karlsruhe, lernte unbd arbeitete in bekannten Glasmalerwerkstätten in Stuttgart, Dresden, Bielefeld, Luzern, Offenburg, Frankfurt und schließlich in Basel, wo er große Kunstwerke schuf. Seine Studienreisen führten ihn durch halb Europa, nach Frankreich, Italien, Spanien und in die Schweiz. Aber immer blieb er seiner geliebten Heimatstadt Wolfach eng verbunden.

 

Nach dem ersten Weltkrieg ließ sich Georg Straub in Wolfach nieder. Er lebte und arbeitete im "Molerhüsle" in der Wolfacher Vorstadt. Das Haus existiert nicht mehr, es wurde im Zuge der Vorstadtsanierung abgerissen. Straub war ein so genannter Historienmaler. Seine Motive für die Glasmalerei fand er vor allem in mittelalterlichen Darstellungen. Er galt als ein ausgezeichneter Kenner der Heraldik, der Heiligenlegenden und der Symbolik. Neben der Glasmalerei beherrschte Straub aber auch Zeichenstift, Tuschefeder oder Holzstichel, um Skizzen der Schwarzwälder Heimat oder Porträts anzufertigen. Seine grafischen Arbeiten zierten nicht nur Zeitungsberichte, sie finden sich auch in der Chronik von Franz Disch wieder. Darüber hinaus hat Strraub als Gebrauchsgrafiker sein Geld verdient. Er entwarf Plakate und Festschriften für Wolfacher Vereine. Von ihm stammen beispielsweise auch die Entwürfe für die Orden der Freien Narrenzunft Wolfach und er hat die Urkunde für die Ehrenbürgerschaft Wolfachs gestaltet. Straub hat sich aber auch als Dichter einen Namen gemacht.

 

Reich wurde Georg Straub mit seiner Arbeit nicht. Der Künstler wohnte mit seiner Frau Gertrud, geborene Schöck, die er 1925 geheiratet hat, in der Wolfacher Vorstadt in bescheidenen Verhältnissen. Die Ehe blieb kinderlos.Für seine Heimatstadt Wolfach hat sich Straub in ungewöhnlicher hoher Weise engagiert. Mit seinem Freund Josef Krausbeck und dem Künstlerkollegen Eduard Trautwein  legte er 1936 den Grundstock  für das Heimatmuseum und er half Krausbeck nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg beim Neuaufbau des völlig zerstörten und verwüsteten Museums.

 

Georg Straub hat aber auch den Historischen Verein Wolfach geleitet, er war Narrenvater und Mitglied des Stadtrats.Straub starb am 3. Dezember 1959 im Alter von 77 Jahren durch Herzversagen. Noch am Tag zurvor hatte er durch seine Beiträge beim Altenkaffee Wolfachs Senioren erheitert.



--> Anmelden